Nervousness

As my abroad adventure is coming closer and closer, I start to get more nervous every time I think about it. February 20 I will be leaving for my internship to Aruba for 2,5 months. I know, you probably are thinking ‘but Isa, 2,5 months is literally nothing, what are you so nervous about?’ Well, I have never been gone from home this long or this far, so I get a little sweaty at the thought of it.

Of course, I am very excited to be spending my time at a Caribbean island that is famous for its palm trees and flamingos. Actually, I can’t wait to go. But just every time I look at my countdown I start to think about that nerve-wracking 10,5 hours long flight. Yes, I am very afraid of aeroplanes. Every time I think I conquered my fear, someone tells me something absolutely horrifying that gets me right back at the start.

But after all, I think I will learn a lot from this experience, especially since I will be going abroad more often than this for my teaching practices. Since I am always very homebound, I think it will be a rough but beautiful experience. After all, once you are alone you really get to know yourself.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love travelling and are beyond excited to be spending my first teaching practice abroad in Aruba. I will see amazing things, meet new people and will develop my independence.

Aruba, I am so ready for you.

Plaats een reactie