Experiencing culture shock

I have been in Hong Kong for three weeks right now and so far it has been amazing and horrible at the same time. Amazing because I have met so many new people already from all over the world. We have a big group of exchange students from all around the world and it is amazing to see so many people from different cultural backgrounds together. Another reason for my exchange being amazing so far, is because I get to explore many places in Hong Kong; Central, Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui, Stanley, Tai Po… you name them. Seeing the beautiful skyline, nature and Buddhist temples I have never seen before is enriching for me.

Now you may ask yourself, you describe the people and the things you do as amazing, what is making this experience horrible? Well, even though I’m doing all this cool stuff, I have never felt this homesick in my entire life. I’m experiencing culture shock which I did not prepare myself for. I always thought I am the kind of person who adapts very easily to new environments and cultures, but I now notice I overestimated my own skills. I thought Hong Kong is a place with many expats and a very Western culture. I notice the Western culture in Central, yes, but the place where I live is so different than I expected it to be. And of course I know that Hong Kong is not European and I should try to adapt myself, but it is not easy for me. Everyday I try to be open to experience the cultural differences and see the beauty of it, and I am still learning how to succesfully do this.

While noticing all the differences between Asian and European culture, I think a lot about home. My parents, friends and family. During my experience in Aruba, I did not feel homesick once nor did I miss anyone. I loved my life there and I consider it my second home after living there for 2,5/3 months. I found myself and I came back as a totally different person. More confident, happier and my bonds with everyone became stronger than ever. When I think of home, I think of everything I am missing out on. Seeing my best friend everyday, hanging out with my new group of friends, laughing with my parents and cuddling with my dog. Yes, I have a big FOMO. But at the same time I think about how my life back home will still be the same when I am back. My loved ones don’t get to experience the things I get to do in this half a year.

I am trying to get myself together and enjoy every single minute of my exchange, even though it is a bit hard for me right now. I am learning how to deal with my feelings everyday and I am sure that I will get out of the negative spiral and soon see the beauty of the things I am doing at this very moment.

Plaats een reactie